Dr. James Hayward


Applied DNA Sciences


Dr. James A. Hayward (“Jim”) is Chairman, President, and CEO of Applied DNA Sciences (NASDAQ: APDN). With over 30 years of experience in the biotechnology, pharmaceutical and life science industries, Dr. Hayward is actively involved in the global effort to secure supply chains, to ensure the authenticity of products and to protect retailers, brands and consumers from counterfeiting and diversion. His other interest is the use of synthetic genomics to product personalized medicine to treat a variety of ailments from infection to cancer and genetic diseases. Jim received his bachelor’s degree in Biology and Chemistry from the State University of New York at Oneonta 1976, his Ph.D. in Molecular Biology from the State University of New York at Stony Brook in 1983, and an honorary Doctor of Science from that same institution in 2000. Jim is the author of over 100 publications and has been issued more than 100 patents. Jim was one of the founding principals and research director of Europe’s first liposome company, Biocompatibles Ltd which went public in 1985 on the London FTSE valued at more than $1.5 billion. He was responsible for product development at the Esteé Lauder Companies, where he served as director of research worldwide. Between 1990 and July 2004, Dr. Hayward was the Chairman, President and CEO of The Collaborative Group, Ltd., a provider of products and services to the biotechnology, pharmaceutical and consumer-product industries based in Stony Brook, New York. Divisions of the Collaborative Group were sold to Dow Chemical (human therapeutic protein contract manufacturing) and to BASF (Dermatologicals). Among his honors, he is the 2015 Long Island Innovator of the Year Award. He received the David Award by Networking Magazine in 2014. Jim has been twice named “Entrepreneur of the Year;” in 2002 by Inc. Magazine and in 2009 by the Long Island Technology Hall of Fame he will receive the “Long Island Innovator of the Year” Award on Tuesday, April 24, 2018. He is the recipient of the first “Helix Award” from the International Biotechnology Organization.